• Image result for Storm Stella live updates: Latest tracker, weather maps, radar, snowfall predictions

    Express.co.uk brings you the latest Winter Storm Stella updates, with live tracking maps, forecasts, radar and snowfall predictions as the storm bears down on the north-east US.

    We will update this story 24/7 with the latest news from the National Weather Service including local offices in New York, Philadelphia and other US states.

    8:25pm GMT / 4:25pm EDT

    A thick layer of snow has hit the normally always-sunny Philadelphia, causing vehicles to get stuck and public transport to grind to a halt.

    Pennsylvania meanwhile has experience 12 inches of snowfall, according to local reports

    An while Storm Stella may have largely missed New York City, but it hit wall street harder than expected.

    Trading volume was down 30 per cent on the New York exchange due to the storm while trading overall took a 33 per cent hit.

    5:50pm GMT / 1:50pm EDT

    While New York City has seen its forecast dialled back, mass disruptions have still brought the city to a standstill with many federal agencies opening three hours later than normal and all flights into the east coast travel hub cancelled.

    New York state governor Andrew Cuomo said: “Mother Nature is an unpredictable lady sometimes.

    “She was unpredictable today.”

    Some areas of the state are still buried in higher quantities of snow than predicted and up to 30 inches of snowfall is expected in central parts of the state.

    But other areas in the region could see as much as 2ft of snow fall, with some of the worst blizzard conditions reaching New England.

    4.20pm GMT / 12.20pm EDT

    The storm in New York City has been downgraded, but a winter weather advisory remains in effect.

    Mayor Bill de Blasio has urged citizens to look out for homeless people who are on the streets during the storm.

    He said: “Call 311 and report it so we can get outreach workers to them.”

    Mr Blasio also thanked New Yorkers for not driving, and said that the roads should be back to usual tomorrow.

    Snow is forecast to stop in the next few hours. It is thought that above-ground subways will resume service tomorrow and schools might reopen.

    3.30pm GMT / 11.30am EDT

    Snow continues to fall with 13 inches recorded in Bergen County, New Jersey and 12.8 inches in Orange Lake, Orange County NY.

    A flood advisory has been issued for parts of south Queens, south Nassau and south-west Suffolk until 1.15pm EDT today.

    A wind advisory is in effect for New York until 6pm EDT tonight, with gusts of up to 50mph possible which could lead to down power lines and trees.

    Storm Stella advisory updateNOAA

    The latest Storm Stella warning and advisory update for New York

    The NOAA has updated its advisories as snow has mixed with sleet and rain in New York.

    The winter storm warning remains in place until midnight, with snow and sleet accumulations of between four and 14 inches forecast, winds of up to 50 mph with isolated gusts of up to 60 mph.

    The blizzard warning also remains in effect until midnight, with snow and sleet accumulations of between one and two feet possible, winds of up to 45 mph and visibility of one-quarter of a mile or less at times.

    The winter weather advisory stays in  place until 8pm EDT, with snow and sleet of four to eight inches and gusts of up to 50 mph.

    11 inches of snow fall have been reported in Orange County, New York.

    1pm GMT / 9am EDT

    The NOAA reports that up to 4.5 inches of snow has fallen in Connecticut, with up to 5.5 inches in New Jersey and a massive 8.0 inches in parts of New York.

    Figures were recorded over six hours early this morning.

    The biggest snowstorm ever recorded in New York saw 27.5 inches of snow fall in Central Park between January 22 and 24, 2016.

    As thousands of flights continue to be cancelled, a photo shared on Twitter reveals how Boston Logan airport has been affected.

    The usually busy terminal looks almost empty as the storm bears down.

    View image on Twitter

    Categories: News Update

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,