• In the 2015 release of Creative Cloud, you get access to all-new versions of your favorite desktop apps, and you can download them using the Creative Cloud desktop app. To learn more, see What’s new in Creative Cloud 2015.

    Creative Cloud desktop app provides a quick way to update all your apps to the latest version. You can individually update installed apps, or update all apps together.

    • Update apps
    • Advanced options
    • Install previous versions

    The Creative Cloud desktop app displays an Update All button or Update buttons next to installed apps. Clicking Update or Update All installs the latest versions of apps on your computer. Preferences and settings are migrated over to the new version, and the previous versions of the apps are uninstalled.

    Save your work and close all Adobe apps before you begin. If Adobe apps are open, you may receive a warning to close them. For more help, see Close conflicting processes or apps.

    To update the apps, do the following:

    • Open the Creative Cloud desktop app and go to the Apps panel. The Apps panel displaysUpdate buttons next to the apps installed on your computer.

      If you’ve installed third-party plug-ins, they may not work with the 2015 version of the apps. Contact your plug-in vendor for information about compatibility and updates.

    • Click Update All or Update. The Update confirmation dialog box displays.

    • Optionally, click Advanced Options.

      • Deselect Import previous settings and preferences. By default, settings and preferences from the previous version are migrated to the latest version. For more information, seeImport preferences and settings.
      • Deselect Remove old versions to retain previously installed versions of software. By default, all previous versions of Creative Cloud apps are uninstalled when you update to the latest version. For more information, see Remove old versions.
    • Click Update to begin updating installed apps to the latest versions.

      When the update is complete, the latest apps are ready for use. For information on how to start, see Launch Creative Cloud apps.

    To the top

    Advanced options

    Use the Advanced options to specify the app update behavior. By default, all previously installed versions of Creative Cloud apps are removed and customized preferences and settings are migrated to the latest version.

    If you want to retain previously installed versions or not migrate settings, update the following options:

    Import previous settings and preferences

    When selected, applicable settings and preferences from 2014 version of apps are automatically migrated to the latest installed version. When you launch the apps, you may be prompted to import settings from 2013 and earlier versions. On updating, Dreamweaver, Edge Animate, and Muse always migrate preferences from the previous versions.

    Some apps, however, do not support migrating preferences and settings from previous versions:

    • Acrobat DC
    • Bridge
    • Speedgrade

    Remove old versions

    When selected, previously installed versions of Creative Cloud apps are removed when you update to 2015 version of the apps. For example, updating to Photoshop CC 2015 uninstalls Photoshop CC and Photoshop CC 2014.

    Some apps, however, do not support retaining the older versions. When you click Update All, previous versions of these apps are uninstalled, even if you’ve deselected the Remove old versionsoption. If you’re updating the following apps individually, the Remove old versions option is selected and cannot be changed:

    • Adobe Muse

    Do not use the Update All option if you want to retain the older version of one of these apps. When you’re ready to update them (for example, when you’ve completed a current project), click the Update button next to these apps.

    Updating Acrobat DC

    While updating to Acrobat DC, you can choose to retain previous versions of Acrobat installed on your system.

    However, not all previous versions of Acrobat can co-exist with Acrobat DC. If you have a version of Acrobat installed on your system, which cannot be retained while updating to Acrobat DC, then you will get one of the following messages:

    Select ‘Skip and Continue’ to continue updating other apps or ‘OK’ if you are updating Acrobat only. Uninstall previous version of Acrobat from your system and then install Acrobat Pro DC.

     

    Select ‘Skip and Continue’ to continue updating other apps or ‘OK’ if you are updating Acrobat only. Either uninstall previous version of Acrobat from your system or select Back and choose ‘Remove old versions’ under Advanced options to install Acrobat DC.

    To the top

    Install previous versions

    If you ever need access to previous versions of apps, you can download and install them using the Creative Cloud desktop app. For more information, see Install previous versions.

    To install the previous version of Acrobat, see How to install Acrobat XI.

    [“source-helpx.adobe”]

    Categories: Cloud Update

    Tags: ,